Forum home Babies Weaning
🚨 Advance warning 🚨 This forum will be closing on 1st May – please see our pinned thread for more information.

Weaning and reflux

My little girl is 5months old and has been on Zantac and gavasicon since 3weeks old with reflux which has had it's ups and downs but have coped and she's such a happy baby. Decided to try her on sum baby food (rice and custard) as she seemed to b wanting more bottle and she's really enjoying the food until about an hour or so later becomes really screamy, sick and the only things that will settle her is more bottle (even thou on 8oz) or standing up with her which is when her reflux is bad she does the same starting to feel useless and not sure weather to keep goin with the food or stop for another month any thoughts would b really helpful :-/

Replies

• Could your health visitor help you on this one? I'm afraid I have no experience of reflux but I did understand that it was supposed to get much better with weaning. Have you tried some sweet potato or plan potato mashed. They are both filling and unlikely to cause an upset. I'm sorry your little girl is struggling with this but fingers crossed its just a stage and she'll be loving all food soon enough x

• Emily now 4 had awful reflux that cleared up once she was off the milk. Definately try sweet pot carrots etc. but stay away from parsnip, I learnt the hard way that this innocent veg is a killer for our Lo. Gripe water always helped too.
  • My friend had a very similar experience but once her daughter got onto more solid food her reflux gradually cleared up.  It would be worth speaking to your health visitor or doctor just to ask their advice about it.  Perhaps try her with "solid" food from 6 months such as rice cakes, bread, pasta etc as the chewing might help rather than just having soft food?

Good luck x