Forum home Babies Weaning

My Baby is coming up to 6months, I'm so confused!!

Hello there, I'm new to this but I just thought i'd give it a try as my head is baffled by all of this weaning stuff image

my baby boy will be 6months on Sunday and for a couple of weeks now I've been trying him with a cube of veg around tea time. He loves it, I've read books about different veg to try and done that, he's had a wide range. Just unsure what to do now, do I introduce breakfast? Or another meal? 

He currently has 8oz milk every 4hours but sleeps through from 8-6 so misses 2 bottles a day. So do I begin to cut his milk down and offer more food? 

Any advise or a routine to follow would be appreciated, he is my first baby so I have no idea at all image 

thank you xx

Replies

• Totally get what you're saying - it's all so confusing!

Right, rough guide is this - Milk is still your babies main food source - weaning is about introducing how to chew, swallow, textures, and then is gradually becomes three meals a day.

Always offer milk for breakfast - think you then introduce lunch - so a couple of cubes of sweet potato or squash... then offer milk after.

Once lunch is established, introduce dinner/tea - so if he goes down at 8pm, maybe offer some fingers of toast, or more puree veggies at 5pm.

Just go with what you baby wants - if he's cleaning it up, let him go for it! As ong as he has a good bottle in the morn and eve and maybe a small one at lunchtim, you'll be fine!

Also, i found the Annabel Karmel weaning book really helpful - made a few dishes from there (this sweet pot/lentil thing) my baby loved. Get a second hand one on amazon or something!

• That's brill thank you ???? I've been looking in the Ella'a kitchen weaning to big table book but I'll give that one a go. 

So would you not bother with breakfast then? Just a good bottle.