Forum home Babies Weaning

Baby rice....what age?

As most of you know Bronwyn is a big girl. She has been taking 7oz of milk for some feeds, so I have put her onto the formula for hungry babies. She is wolfing that down too. It has been suggested that I should mix babyrice in with her milk. I am not convinced, that at 6 weeks old, that is a good idea! Although some woman in a shop said she gace her son babyrice at 5 weeks!!!! I think Bronwyn will need weaning early due to her size. Just wondered what your experiences are. Thanks

Replies

• Hi caroline,

I'm no expert but I think it's a little early for baby rice, putting it in her milk also runs the risk of it becoming too solid and her choking (I know I'm over paranoid with things like choking but that's what comes of being a peads nurse!)

My friends baby was a very hungry baby and she put him on hungry formula and just weaned him a little earlier than usual bout 3 and half mths.

Hope you find a solution

Love jd_mummy x
  • Hi Caroline

I think you'll find everyone has a different opinion or experience on this and advice tends to differ from one hv to another!!

As far as i know babyrice should never be added to the milk in the bottle as this can be a choking hazard.

Ethan started on a tiny bit of baby rice at 12weeks as he was exclusive breastfed and was hungry we personally thought this was a better option than introducing formula just to fill him up.

I think the boxes of baby rice say from 4months but i think hv's will always go on about not feeding a baby until 6months. I personally think this is ridiculous and always want to ask them what age they fed their child but never have the nerve!!

Hope this helps Take care love Tasha xx
  • Hi Caroline,