Forum home Getting pregnant Long term TTC & infertility
🚨 Advance warning 🚨 This forum will be closing on 1st May – please see our pinned thread for more information.
Options

3 years TTC, any advice/other stories?

Hi All, 

I am really new to this and have never written a blog or thread or anything. I just wanted to share my story and ask some questions along the way, and hopefully keep it relatively short.

We have been TTC for 3 years now, admittedly not constantly as we sort of had a break from 'trying' in the middle (when I had a bit of a breakdown), but still not using contraception. My mum had me quite young and I always wanted to do the same to have a similar relationship. Anyway skip through the bad relationships (in which I didn't always use contraception but never fell pg) and I met my partner, after a year or so of being together we thought it was the right time to start trying.

In the first few months of us trying two of my best friends and my younger sister got pg (two of which had never expressed an interest to have kids, and one of which was on the pill at the time), this for me was great news but so heartbreaking at the same time. I felt like the worst person in the world for not being truly happy/feeling upset. I went a bit off the rails and hated everyone and everything (mostly pg women, I couldn't even look at them) for the next year or so. ALOT of women would then ask 'oh aren't you going to have kids' or 'you better start trying if your younger sisters had a baby' which was infuriating. Once my niece was born I was so happy she was here that I really did feel happy for my sister completely and there was no resentment left.

I would regularly get pg symtoms, spotting, sickness, sore boobs and get my hopes up so much (every month I thought it was my month), and as soon as I did a test which was obviously negative I would start my period the next day, did anyone else do this/have false symtoms??