Forum home Archived Birth Clubs My baby was born in Dec 07
🚨 Advance warning 🚨 This forum will be closing on 1st May – please see our pinned thread for more information.
Options

shocked

hey everyone. Went to the baby clinic on Monday like i have been doing for the past three months to get phoebe weighed. As i went to put a clean nappy on her i did my usual routine of baby wipe, powder, nappy cream when the health visitor told me i shouldn't use talcum powder in the nappy area because it has been linked to cervical cancer! i also shouldn't use it on myself, which i do all the time. She said it so seriously i didn't know what to say. How come no-one else has said this to me? I'm actually really angry because that is something i should have been told when she was born! Has anyone else been told this?

Replies

• Options
    Never ever heard of that in my life??!!!!
    Talcum powder is a staple in our house and my mum's and her mum's.
  • Options
    Not heard it either! How do they work that one out and if it's true, then you're right loublue, we should've been told earlier! I don't use it but still need to know of something that's potentially dangerous to my baby.
    Gonna google it!
  • Options
    Googled it!
    Not sure how to do this as a link but this is short and sweet bit of info on the matter :

http://www.canceractive.com/page.php?n=220
    Wouldn't worry too much tho as things change all the time.
  • Options
    Hi, I had read somewhere not to use talc on babies but when i looked into it all I could find out as to the reason was to do with the dust from the talc not being good for babies lungs.

I use talc as I have found it the best way of keeping nappy rash away and am just careful I don't spray it all over the place!