Forum home Archived Birth Clubs My baby was born in Jan 2012
🚨 Advance warning 🚨 This forum will be closing on 1st May – please see our pinned thread for more information.
Options

Anyone else ???

Hey was just wondering if anyone works night shifts? I am a nurse and have to do nights. Before I got pregnant I loved them but now I am so ill all night, sick, dizzy, and oh my god I literally can't keep my eyes open. If any of you do and have found any ways of coping I would be grateful if you could share them as this really is killing me. Thanks and hope you are all well x

Replies

• Options
    your boss legally has to offer you day shifts now although i know this isnt often an option as most peeps doing nights do them for a reason. sit down whenever possible stay in brightly lit areas......dont take a long break and get fresh air whenever possible...and when the dreaded eye pinch starts hapening drink something ice cold and fizzy and splash some water on your face......best solution is go and see a lively time consuming client it will soon wake you up x
  • Options
    g/c but i got signed off nights by occy health for a few months until i felt better in my first pregnancy as i often never got a break during my 12 hour nightshifts , they dont have to legally change your shifts though esp if your contract is pro rota or nights normally, you can also get a note fom your doctor advising not to do nights for a certain period,
  • Options
    Sorry to g/c I work shifts and they don't have to take you off nights. I spoke to my dr and all they can give you is a note to recommend altered hours but they cannot specifically say you are unable to do nights. I was exhausted but due to personal circs I ended up being signed off work anyway and am now on a structured return to work.

Mostly it will be down to goodwill of your employer and your risk assessments which will differ for every workplace xx
  • Options