Forum home› Archived Birth Clubs› My baby was born in May 2010
🚨 Advance warning 🚨 This forum will be closing on 1st May – please see our pinned thread for more information.
Options

Applying for a new job?

I'm a solicitor working for a city council. Today my hubby saw my job being advertised at another local authority, in the county we are planning on moving to. And they are paying their solicitors the same as senior solicitors get at the authority I currently work for. I'm seriously considering applying for the job but I'm wondering if it's a good idea seeing as I'm currently on maternity leave.

The plus sides as I see it are:
1. Pay increase!!
2. I'd stand a good chance of getting an interview as I've worked for a bigger local authority doing the same job for nearly 2 years now.
3. The type of work they cover is broader than what I do at the moment, so I'd have an opportunity to learn something new.
4. The quality of Social Work is of a higher standard at the said authority, making my job easier (less getting shouted at by Judges!) and therefore less stressful.
5. The career progression is better. At my current place if I was promoted I would have to be on call to go to Court in an out of office hours emergency which creates problems for childcare, but they don't have the same scheme at the other authority.
5. We're planning on moving to that area, so when we do I'd have less travelling time.

Negatives are:
1. I don't know if they'd consider taking me on if I wanted to work part time / job share (I could always ask before I fill in the form)
2. I'm not intending to return to work until February at the earliest (although if they're anything like where I work at the moment it could take 3 months plus before they'd be ready for me to start as I'd have to have a new CRB check and local authorities are always slow)
3. We were planning on TTC no 2 in the new year and I doubt they'd be happy if I turned up pregnant on my first day!