Forum home Archived Birth Clubs My baby was born in Nov 2012
🚨 Advance warning 🚨 This forum will be closing on 1st May – please see our pinned thread for more information.
Options

When are you planning on starting maternity leave?

Hi everyone,

I need to make a decision about this very soon, as my employers are going to advertise for cover for me soon and will need an idea of a start date... But I don't have a clue when I will need to finish work!

My job isn't particuarly physical, but it is stressful. I am a manager and so have a lot of responsibility and often work longer hours than contracted.

I have decided that I am having a whole year off. In my contract I can have a whole year and still go back at the end of it. But I want to save as much time to have with the baby as possible rather than use up too much beforehand! And then of course, baby could be a few weeks late!

This is my first baby and so I have no idea how I will feel nearer the end! I had been thinking about beginning my leave on 15th October and starting with 2 weeks annual leave which I have left, meaning maternity leave will properly start on 29th Oct (1 week before my due date of 5th Nov). So that will mean i'm finishing 3 weeks before. Is that too early, too late? I have had people say both!

I just wondered how long those of you who have done this before had off before baby was born, and those first timers like me, what are you planning?

Thanks!

Replies

• Options