Forum home Getting pregnant Trying to conceive
🚨 Advance warning 🚨 This forum will be closing on 1st May – please see our pinned thread for more information.
Options

Nrw to ovulation kits...any tips?

Just bought some ovulation test sticks from amazon (didn't go for the clearblue digital ones as they were so expensive for only 7 sticks and the cheaper ones on amazon got such good reviews and there was 30 in a pack...thought I would try these first).

Just wanted to know how many people had used Ov test kits and have they been successful for u? What's the best time of day to test?

How many times a day did u test? (only having read that the egg can live for as little as 12hours, could I miss it??)

Replies

• Options
    Hi mrscoxuk

I have been using one of those kits for the past 2 months. Did yours come with a thermometer?

I think they give some guidance in the pack on what day to start testing, as it depends on the length of your cycle.

I think that testing in the evening is supposed to be beter, and some people say you are not supposed to have drank anything for a while beforehand, but I didn't even realise that! I tested in the evening having had a few cups of tea beforehand and got a clear positive on day 14 of my cycle. So it seemed to work fine for me! Although I got my positive on CD14, I think I actually ov on CD16 due to temperature changes. Apparently the positive test doesn't mean you are currently OV, but that it could happen in the next couple of days. That seemed to be the case with me.

Good luck with it all!

One tip though- try not to become obsessive about it- I have fallen for that one! It's good to know when you are OV, but if you worry too much about temps and cervical mucus and dates etc.. it will probably mean you are not very relaxed!
  • Options