Forum home Getting pregnant Trying to conceive
🚨 Advance warning 🚨 This forum will be closing on 1st May – please see our pinned thread for more information.
Options

How did you decide when to TTC?

Hi I'm a newbie still lurking as we are not TTC yet so I don't feel like I have much to say just now. 

We had decided to start trying in December/January. I have started taking folic acid and am starting to get excited as we get closer to December. However, we have two weddings in August next year, one which I am a bridesmaid and the other is abroad. IF I got pregnant first cycle (and that's a big if as I know it's not always that easy) I would be due September. I don't really want to postpone TTC in case we have difficulties but I'm already worrying about these weddings!  What would you do in this situation? Should we put TTC back a couple of months? I am clueless about travelling in pregnancy and if I couldn't go I think H would go without me as long as it wasn't too near my due date.

How did you decide when to TTC? Did you consider any future plans you had or did you just go for it and deal with it if it became an issue?

Replies

• Options

We put of TTC because of our wedding / honeymoon but that was it. We have weddings next year which I'm really looking forward to, but I'll not postpone TTC for them. As it happens, I'm 9 months in and still unsuccessful. There is always going to be 'something' in the way in my views. My advice would be to start TTC as soon as you would be happy for it to happen now, but if you can earlier, then I would. But, I'm bound to say that with the length of time it has taken - as I wish we had started even earlier now. You will have others who were successful first cycle who wouldn't say they wish they had tried earlier as they didn't need to etc.

• Options