Forum home Babies Baby
🚨 Advance warning 🚨 This forum will be closing on 1st May – please see our pinned thread for more information.
Options

Bottle Feeding/Formula Feeding help needed!

Hello,

My due date is fast approaching and I'm starting to have a wee panic about baby's arrival as I am complete NOVICE when it comes to baby care!

Anyway, I am planning to bottle feed (formula) and have a few questions if any mummies can help me....

1) What do you think is the best way to prepare bottles - I have heard that you make them up as you go, but some people have told me that they keep streilised water already in the bottles (keep in the fridge or cupboard) and then add the formula as baby needs???? I am v confused as I know that formula can't be left for more than 24 hours and a feed cannot be re-used etc etc.

2) Are there any set requirements as to how much feed baby should take, or does it depend on the baby?

3) I have Avent bottles, but also have 2 Dr Brown small bottles. will it confuse baby by using two different makes of bottles?

4) You know if you go out with baby and have the pre-prepared formula in cartons then do you just make sure you take an empty setrilised bottle out with you and just pour in the formula, or do you put the formula in the bottle before leaving the house?

I know I sound really stupid but I haven't a clue and have no mum or sister nearby to help me image

If you have any other tips or advise on formula feeding I would really appreciate it,

Thanks xx

Replies

• Options
    hey there.... i started breast feeding and went onto bottles i was v confused too....