Forum home Babies Breast & bottle feeding
🚨 Advance warning 🚨 This forum will be closing on 1st May – please see our pinned thread for more information.
Options

It's all too much - can someone tell me things are ok?

Hi ladies. I am hoping for some advice on here as I am very new to this - Harry is my first baby and is now the grand age of 4 days old!

I've had some conflicting advise re winding/not needing to wind him after a feed and wanted to make sure what was right? I try the rubbing/patting his back this when he is sitting on my lap (and it looks like I'm strangling the poor fella!) and also putting him up over my shoulder but very rarley does he do many burps and I don't want to make him uncomfortable - i'm sure I've given him hiccups more than once.

Also, I wasn't in hopsital very long (in and out within 12 hours as I had a very fast labour and nothing medical was wrong with us) and dont really get on with my midwife (only met her once after having alovely one wll through pregnancy who left a week before I gave birth!) but I am finding it difficult to get him to open his mouth wide enough to latch on how the leaflets they give you say he should, resulting in sore cracked nips already! I am determined to do my very best to exclusively bf but finding it a bit overwhelming feeding every few hours all day and night at the moment. Also I feel really swollen as my milk has come in the last couple of days so generally feeling a bit sorry for myself and sore all over!

Sorry for the waffle but I think I'm still in shock of it all and a bit overwhelmed that this poor little man is relying on me for so much - he is so perfect I don;t want anything to hurt him, particularly something I should or shouldn't have done, just need to someone to tell me it is okay really, and I'm not the only one feeling like this.

Thanks for listening / reading if nothing else ladies

Clare & Harry

Replies

• Options