Forum home Babies Breast & bottle feeding
🚨 Advance warning 🚨 This forum will be closing on 1st May – please see our pinned thread for more information.
Options

I think this is it for me :(

I'm so gutted, but I can't think of a way round it - I think the time is almost here when I'll have to give up BFing :cry:

I'm going back to work on June 6th, Jak will be almost 7 months then. I'll have to drop him off at my dad's place by about 7:15am, and I won't be able to fetch him again until 5:30pm at the earliest. I've tried to get my head around how I'll manage to feed/express within the time frame I've got, and it'll leave me getting up at about 5am so I can get ready for work, then waking him at 6am for a feed so I can have him ready to leave the house, not to mention finding time in my day at work (I'm a teacher) to express for him three times - and express full feeds at that - so he's got milk for the following day. It's just not going to be logistically possible, and I'm so so upset I think I'm going to have to give him formula.

I know formula's fine, I just feel like I'm failing him because I'm abandoning him all day every day and not feeding him myself. Virtual slap, please, or a way round the problem!

:cry:

Replies

• Options
    hey emily,

i'm in a similar situation , however i'm not going back until september and my lo will be nearly 7 months.

don't feel bad it is good that you have come this far because it isn't easy and bf for this long has already given lo the very very best start.

in terms of solutions, i have been freezing bm, (can be frozen for 6 months) so i have some bm for lo when go back to work, but i know there won't be much, i don't have time to express now let alone when go back to work. we only have 25 min breaks and i'll want to use my frees to do loads of work so have evenings and weekends free. i have no doubt that lo will have to be mixed fed.