Forum home Family life & relationships Childcare & work
🚨 Advance warning 🚨 This forum will be closing on 1st May – please see our pinned thread for more information.
Options

Going back to work with two children...:-(

Hi,

I still have a few months left of maternity leave (thank goodness) but have just found out my request for going back 2 days has been declined. I will be returning 3 days a week. I am really disappointed but nothing I can do about it, so I was hoping someone out there has two children and works, is it ok? or is it just terrible?

I am dreading leaving them both for that long, I am dreading coping with the work load (I am a teacher and even though we get long hols the work load is horrendous and I have no idea how I am going to handle it) and I just feel SO BLOOMIN GUILTY! No one I know with two kids has had to go back to work and some have commented how they would never want to work with two kids. I don't have a choice as we just cannot afford to live off one income. I feel so sad and upset.

Please someone out there reassure me it will be ok??? how have you managed it? any teachers out there working and how do you cope with the work load????

thanks x image:cry:

Replies

• Options
    Hello dear, I read your post and didn't just want to read and run. I was pregnant at the same time as a colleges wife and she actually had two children and was a teacher and was pregnant with the third. Now her second was only a year old or less than a year when she feel pregnant with the third, so she went back to work for about six months or so, not very sure exact dates/months but all i know she wasn't back at work very long and then she gave birth to her third child. So it is very possible, I'm still on mat leave and was really dreading leaving my little girl, but now i can see that she is just a little madam and she loves my mother (who will be taking care of her) so i'm not worried at all anymore.