Forum home Babies Breast & bottle feeding
🚨 Advance warning 🚨 This forum will be closing on 1st May – please see our pinned thread for more information.
Options

Baby Being Sick After Feeds

I'm new to site so hello all. I'm in need of advise!

My little girl is now 9 weeks old but was a prem baby born at 31 weeks. I couldnt breast feed her because I just wasn't lactating enough but manged to express some to give her a good start. Since birth she's been on Aptamil first and she was tube fed in hospital but then before she left went onto a bottle. We carried on with Aptamil first because it was what she'd had in hospital but after she came home after three weeks in hospital she developed bad wind.

On the advise of the HV we used Infacol (worked for a time and then stopped), Colief (didn't work at all) and then we changed her to Aptamil Comfort milk. She did seem a bit better ut was still windy so we tried gripe water and this worked for a time but started to make her choke so stopped using.

Then as she approached her due date around 2 weeks ago she went from taking around 5oz of feed to only being able to take 2 - 4oz. We were advised that because she was so windy we should wind her often during her feed. She'd take her first 1-2oz and then when I'd try and carry on with her feed she cry and want to feed but when I put the teet in her mouth she'd cry as though she couldn't take it and there was a blockage. She then also started to be sick after feeds and has been like this since.

We've tried loads of different bottles, Tommee Tippee natural touch and ant-colic but she seems better on a fast flow latex teat and a standard bottle.

Took her to the doctors on Tuesday last week and was prescribed gaviscon but it's not made a difference. She still pukes quite a lot either during winding or feeding. She's putting on weight and the puking seems to upset me more than her.