Forum home Family life & relationships Food & recipes
🚨 Advance warning 🚨 This forum will be closing on 1st May – please see our pinned thread for more information.
Options

Soya Milk

Does anybody know if soya milk is ok for a 61/2 month old?

I have been using Alpro soya which says it is fine for children over 6 months but when I bought 'So Good' Soya milk, it says it is only suitable for children 12 months+. I actually called their support line to ask and they told me not to use it under 12months although I don't see the difference between this and the alpro soya?
Does anyone have any knowledge of this or use it for your babies? I am not using it as a main milk supply, just adding it in cooking and on his cereal etc. (He is dairy intolerant)

Any help would be great.

Louise xx

Replies

• Options
    Both my boys have been and still are using Alpro Soya. Both are milk intolerant, although the older one has grown out of it. My youngest has 3-4 6oz bottles a day still. As far as I am aware, the only health risk to using soya milk and boys is it has been associated with reduced fertility in boys when they get older.
  • Options
    Thanks for that. I think I'll carry on using the alpro soya as it has the added calcium so he needs to get it from somewhere.
    What did you use for yogurts & cheese?
    My hv said to give him the alpro soya yogurts too but they are so high in sugar! I haven't seen any other yogurts other than the alpro ones. The only cheese I have seen is something called Sheese but haven't tried it.
  • Options