Forum home Pregnancy Labour & birth
🚨 Advance warning 🚨 This forum will be closing on 1st May – please see our pinned thread for more information.
Options

37 weeks and back pain won't let up!

Hello ladies, I'm 37 weeks and dilated 4cm... I've been getting these horrible back pains that come and go with intensity but remain there constantly! Thisis my ssecond baby but my first labor was induced and i can't really recall having just back pain with labor. I've been to l&d twice already and had them send me home because I wasn't contracting, just having bad cramps in lower back. Been in bed mostly, walking or sitting makes it worse. Should I be timing them when they become more intense? Could I be experiencing early labor?

Replies

• Options

Hello hurtlocker01 - and welcome to MadeForMums!

Wow, it certainly sounds like something's happening alright! 

I'm no expert, and I'm sure there will be others coming along in a minute with some great advice, but I'd try getting on all fours. When I was getting back pain in early labour, that really helped me.

Good luck! And please do let us know how you're getting on...

• Options

Thanks for the advice. Most everything I try brings slight relief but the pain creeps right back every time! It's becomimg a bit hard to manage. I'm now to a point where moving around at all causes contractions! Right now I'm just weighing it out. I DO NOT want to be stuck in l&d for hours with this without knowing it's labor. I'd rather be home. I'm just scared it's going to dilate me too much that when I do go into active labor I won't have time to make it to the hospital. 

• Options

Oh poor you! But how exciting, too!

Can you talk when you're having the contractions?

Might be worth ringing the maternity ward - sometimes, they can tell from your voice - particularly if you have a contraction while you're on the phone! - how far on you are.

• Options