Forum home Babies Postnatal depression
🚨 Advance warning 🚨 This forum will be closing on 1st May – please see our pinned thread for more information.
Options

Scared of PND second time around

Hello ladies,

I am new to babyexpert but couldn't find better advice then from mothers who have experienced what i have.

When i was 19 i fell pregnant with my now husbands child. I was on the pill at the time so the pregancy was not at all planned. At around 4 months into my pregnancy my parents dropped the bombshell that they were going to start divorce proceedings which started to turn very messy. Bearing in mind i was 19 and in a situation that i was not prepared for this was the last thing i needed. every day i recieved phone calls from both my mum and dad running each other down but i was too week to stop them from doing so. My husband was furious with them for what they put me through. At 6 months i had full on pre-natal depression. I was a total mess and couldnt be left alone and had to be baby sat all the time! it was awful but i managed to over come this and enjoy my pregnancy.

At 38 weeks i was struck down with the most horrendous pain and was rushed to hospital. It turns out that my appendix had burst and i was rushed into surgery and a c-section was performed to remove my daugter who was also having difficulties. I never experience any contractions, labour or child birth.

After 10 days i knew something was wrong again and i had PND! just my luck! I never had any love loss towards my baby i just felt so down and cheated by the circumstances i was faced with and at times detached from her. I beat PND and have had the most amazing 6 years with her. Now we are planning baby no 2 and will TTC in may. I am not so worried about getting PND as i know all the signs but i fell i am more in control of circumstances and the fact that the pregnancy is planned should help me mentally.