Forum home Pregnancy Pregnancy
🚨 Advance warning 🚨 This forum will be closing on 1st May – please see our pinned thread for more information.
Options

Did anyone have an early '12 week' scan?

Hi ladies, this is my first time posting in pg, usually hang out in DIS. HOpe you don't mind me popping in for some advice?

I'm 8+3 (I think) and saw the midwife this Thurs for booking in. She said she'd arrange my scan and it could end up being at 10 weeks as they're doing them earlier. Apparently they can see just as much.

I've not actually had the date yet but just wondered if this is standard in other areas? The positive is i get so see if little peanut is alright a bit sooner (am panicking at the mo) but I'm not confident they'll be able to see as much.

Any advice greatly received. THanks in advance.

Peanut xxx

Replies

• Options
    I had a private scan at 10+3 and it was actually better than my 12 week scan (which was at 12+4 i think)!! It was amazing. Legs were so long!

Could see baby doing somersaults and bouncing around the sac whereas by the 12 week scan she was much bigger and just wiggled a bit.

• Options
    I had a private scan at 10 weeks and an NHS scan at 12+3 and they were the same. Well, the private scan was much more personal and reasuring but they checked the same things - mainly the heartbeat and that the baby has two arms, two legs, one head and heartbeat. The main differance is the size. Still got lovely photos though xxx
  • Options