Forum home Pregnancy Pregnancy
🚨 Advance warning 🚨 This forum will be closing on 1st May – please see our pinned thread for more information.
Options

Advice re work and dates plz

Hi ladies.

I am just looking for a little advice please.

I have decided that I shall not be returning to my job when I have had the baby and would like to become a stay at home mum.
At the moment I am getting a lot of pain from this pregnancy, so was thinking of taking my full 11 weeks maternity. My baby is due on the 30th April so what would the date be that i could leave?
Also because I am not going to be going back after the maternity leave when do I date my notice of leave from? Do I hand this in when I inform my boss that I shall be taking my maternity leave all 11 weeks of it or do I hand it in a month before my maternity finishes?

Maz x
18+3

Replies

• Options
    I'm no expert but i don't think it is as simple as that.

If you are not intending to return to work then you won't be entitaled to company maternity pay, and so i think you just hand your notice in and then claim state maternity allowance which is currently about ??117.

I'd get some advice from citezens advice or similar!
  • Options
    It's my understanding that maternity leave always startes on a sundazy and finishes on a saturday. My work had fairly good info on their intranet site on this (and a handy chart that works it out for you) - the week in which your due date is is called your estimated week of confinement, and you can start maternity leave 11 weeks before that.

30th April is a Friday, so you would actually count back 11 weeks from the Sunday before, 25th April - which I make 7th Feb, so you last day of work would be 6th Feb (or the last day you are scheduled to work before that).