Forum home Toddlers & older children Schoolchildren
🚨 Advance warning 🚨 This forum will be closing on 1st May – please see our pinned thread for more information.
Options

Childcare!!!

Hi All,

I would really appreciate any advice re. childcare. I'm hoping to return to work part time in September. I'm a teacher, so pretty tied to specific hours. I have 3 children, 5,3 and 10 months, so all at fairly different stages. My mum has looked after older 2 but I feel it's time she enjoyed being grandma and they are quite a formidable bunch when all together. I have used 2 local nurseries and have been very happy but they are now all at very different stages ie school, nursery in am and baby. I've read about all sorts of childcare, breakfast clubs, child minder etc but I would really appreciate any advice/ information on how to do it. I really am struggling. I'm hoping baby can go to nursery but unsure how to organize/handle any other type of childcare. I would love to hear how any other Mums/Dads have organized it!!!

Tracy xxx

Replies

• Options
    I think your best bet would be to get a childminder who has their own car. That way she can drop off/pick up the oldest 2 from school/nursery, and look after the baby at home. You can contact your local authority who will give you a number to call so you can get a list of registered childminders in your area. Hope this is of some use to you. I
    Jo x
  • Options
    Hi Jo,
    thanks for your reply. I think you are right. Will give local authority a ring and see who is available.

Tracy xxx
  • Options
    def agree with a child minder, if you can't afford a nanny to work for you full time & to do all the running around then get the same cm for all 3, baby goes all day, todder gets dropped off & then picked up from playgroup (if they go) and spends remainder of day with cm & then cm can pick up older child when school is out. You can also usually get some kind of discount when cm has siblings.