Forum home Toddlers & older children Toddler
🚨 Advance warning 🚨 This forum will be closing on 1st May – please see our pinned thread for more information.
Options

when lo learns to talk!

hi all,
just wondered how soon everyones lo started talking, my little lad is 19months old he is my third child whether that has anything to do with it i don't know! anyway he says a few things his latest is 'spider' he can say 'tra' and 'football' he won't say mummy or daddy he did months ago but just won't say them, just wasn't sure if this was normal or not!
how much do your little ones talk?

michelle xx

Replies

• Options
    Hi michelle

How are you keeping? I remember being told once that your 1st child talks sooner than any subsequent children. I think its something to do with maybe other children speaking for them or something but as I've only the one I've no experience of this yet

Hilary x
  • Options
    hi hilary, i'm ok thanks, how about you? i've got consultant next wed to see about having a growth scan cos the stupid mw keeps going on about me having a home birth and it being a problem cos i have big babies, i can't tell if she's just doing her job or if she is really trying to put me of home birth. but appart from her annoying me i'm ok!!! xx
  • Options
    I have a 20 month old who says dada, muma and cat, nothing else. We are trying to encourage his speech. He babbles away in his own language though!
  • Options
    I'm fine at the minute coz I actually managed to get a good nights sleep last night for a change. Midwives over here dont seem to be keen on homebirths full stop, to be honest its still a bit of a taboo in N.Ireland unfortunately. What weight was your last baby?

Hilary x
  • Options
    oh i didn't know you were from there! my dad lives in southern ireland. my last one weighed 9lb 7oz!! and i'm not a big person i'm only about 5"1 and normally between a size 10-12, god knows what i am now!! lol