Forum home Babies Baby
🚨 Advance warning 🚨 This forum will be closing on 1st May – please see our pinned thread for more information.
Options

Advice Please

Hello All,

Im new to this mum thing and being a natural worrier im having to turn to this site for advice etc... Jessica is 17wks old altho she was 6wks premature. My mum gives me advice etc on what she did with me etc but times have changed so much i want to talk to people who are in my situation now. Jessica feeds 5 times a day @ 6ozs per feed. Today ive give her about 10ml of cow and gate summer fruits juice, is this ok? As ive just looked on the net and most sites are really against it, ive given it just as a little something extra in the afternoon as milk must get soooo boring, and she doesnt really like water. Has anyone got any advice on this? Also my parents are desperate for me to start her on baby rice, again is this ok, what is the norm? My health visitor isnt very supportive. Thank you in advance to anyone who replies/can help. Im very new to this so hope what ive wrote makes sense and is ok. Thanks xx:\)

Replies

• Options
    Hi Jessica, Don't worry about not knowing anything, most of us were exactly the same to start with, it's a shame babies don't come with instructions! Giving your lo juice won't have done her any harm (I don't think), the reason most people recomend holding back on this is so that the baby doesn't develop a sweet tooth before she has got used to savory flavours. Personally I think she sounds a little young to need any solids yet, official advice is to wait until 28 weeks, although lots of people (including me) start before this. Jessica will let you know when she is ready, she will start being hungry soon after a feed and, if she is like my lo, trying to take food of you when you are eating. I would try and ignore your parents (not always easy I know) and do what you think is best for you and Jessica, hope this helps, Kerry xx

P.S. welcome to the site!
  • Options