Forum home Babies Baby
🚨 Advance warning 🚨 This forum will be closing on 1st May – please see our pinned thread for more information.
Options

May 2020 Babies

Replies

• Options
    That's why I love the haaka! It's only little and it suctions on so you can just concerntrate on feeding baby and not even notice it it just does it all itself :) 
    Saves having to go through endless breastpads from let down 🤦‍♀️ which would happen to me otherwise 😂
  • Options
    Hi Ladies!

Finally get to jump across to the May 2020 Babies thread from the Due in May 2020 thread 🙌

SO let’s start with my birth story.

A bit of back story. I studied hypnobirthing and wanted as natural a birth as possible. I read the “Positive Birth Company’s” book, completed their digital pack and attended a local Hypnobirthing course that was held 2 hours a week over 4 weeks. I was completely sold on it and felt well informed on pros and cons of various procedures, pain relief, etc to do with labour.

So at 28 weeks I was diagnosed with Gestational Diabetes. This was frustrating as I could see many options for birth closing - for example unless I had SUPERB management of GD I would not be able to attend the midwife led unit I wanted to birth at, and my chances of having a water birth were slipping away. Thankfully I managed to stay diet controlled for the diabetes for the rest of the pregnancy. This kept these doors open - as long as nothing else went “wrong”.

Flash forward to 41 weeks pregnant. Still no baby, and my consultant was eager to induce me as they don’t like GD women going beyond 41 weeks (various reasons but the prime one is the placenta can deteriorate sooner for GD women). I didn’t want an induction. I believed baby will come when he’s ready, and I felt messing with the labour process would lead to more pain, a longer labour and more intervention. All things I’d like to avoid.